Starting Off 2011 With Wedding Dress Mishaps

29 Jan

Working at a bridal salon has taught me a few things… but one that stands out is this: wedding dresses are meant to be white. Creams and ivories are acceptable. Trying to keep up with fashion is nearly a full time job, yet I expected every bride to realize that wedding dress color options are limited. For this reason – brides who go for colors that are outside of the box unnerve me. I know, i know; some cultural weddings embrace colorful wedding dresses which should be celebrated. However, most of these dresses are not traditional westernized wedding dresses – some are saris for example. So, when shopping for a wedding dress it is highly unlikely that a Pnina Tornai wedding dress will come in teal – so don’t ask to see color swatches. I, annoyed, yet politely answer that the color swatches come in white, diamond white, ivory and champagne.

This brings me to our first fashion don’t of 2011. Cynthia Bailey; Real Housewives of Atlanta reality star. Just because she’s famous doesn’t mean she can ignore wedding tradition.

Nevertheless, she chose a custom gown by Rubin Singer in a phantom grey. Grey? Perhaps for a funeral… not for a wedding day.

However, the shape of the gown fit her flawlessly and she wore it like a star. The cutout back offered a perfect mesh of sexy and glamorous, but the abundance of material almost drowns her slender frame. Strut your stuff lady! No need to encase yourself in waves of fabric when your body looks that good (not to imply barely there dresses are my style). The empire waist provided a definite waist, which was needed in her large gown. Still, I couldn’t help but think that it belonged on the red carpet or at an upper class prom. Nevertheless, I appreciate the boldness of her choice; it’s definitely nothing I have ever seen before.

Next – accessories. Her black Christian Louboutin slingbacks were to die for. I was so pleased to see a simple shoe with such an elaborate dress; Louboutins can pretty much make any outfit fabulous in my opinion. Her chandelier earrings were a little over the top, but since her hair was worn in a chic bun, I think she pulled it off. Clearly, Cynthia Bailey loves her sense of style, and it definitely did not stop her from going all out on her special day.

Word of advice: Wear white for your wedding & always look fierce!

Until next time…

3 Responses to “Starting Off 2011 With Wedding Dress Mishaps”

  1. bonkasaurus February 11, 2011 at 12:48 AM #

    I love this layout! it is super trendy looking. “wedding dress colors are limited” haha very true. Your blog is very sassy i diggit :). I have an obsession with say yes to the dress and i was able to pick out pnina tornai in your blog and it makes me excited because i LOVE her designs.

  2. traciejanne February 15, 2011 at 6:07 PM #

    haha yes! Pnina Tornai is a genius I love her! I watch every wedding show pretty much – I’m obsessed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bridezillas Tenfold « Married To Fashion - April 11, 2011

    […] am now going to proceed to contradict myself and enter the territory of colored wedding dresses. My first post was about how I disliked colored wedding dresses, which I do, BUT you never say anything to the […]

Leave a Reply

